The Dawn of Empire

The Tudors

This is a painting shows Henry VII (1457-1509), Queen Elizabeth (of York) (1466-1503), Henry VIII (1491-1547), Queen Jane Seymour (1509-1537), and Edward VI (1537-1553), as the Prince of Wales. It was painted in 1669 by Remi van Leemput and adapted from an original by Hans Holbein the younger.

Picture courtesy of National Trust, Petworth House

Dawn of Empire Article


Armed Forces | Art and Culture | Articles | Biographies | Colonies | Discussion | Glossary | Home | Library | Links | Map Room | Sources and Media | Science and Technology | Search | Student Zone | Timelines | TV and Film

by Stephen