General John Studholme Brownrigg CB
2nd Battalion
24th June 1876
General Sir Daniel Lysons
1st Battalion
25th August 1878
General Frederick Augustus Thesiger
2nd Lord Chelmsford GCB GCVO
30th January 1898
General Sir Mark Walker VC KCB
27th September 1900
Lt-General Sir William Bellairs KCMG CB
19th July 1902
General Sir Horace Lockwood Smith Dorrien GCB GCMG DSO
9th June 1905
Lt-General Sir William Raine Marshall GCMG KCB KCSI
13th August 1930
Major-General Sir Frederick Burton Maurice KCMG CB
29th October 1935
Lt-General Sir Wellesley Douglas Studholme Brownrigg KCB DSO
19th January 1941
Lt-General Sir Henry Beresford Dennitts Willcox KCIE CB DSO MC
8th February 1946
Major-General Percival Napier White CB CBE
9th November 1947
Major-General Cecil Benfield Fairbanks CB CBE
9th November 1958

Regimental details


Armed Forces | Art and Culture | Articles | Biographies | Colonies | Discussion | Glossary | Home | Library | Links | Map Room | Sources and Media | Science and Technology | Search | Student Zone | Timelines | TV & Film | Wargames |

by Stephen Luscombe