In 1914 the permanent army of Canada consisted of only a few squadrons of cavalry, an infantry battalion, a few batteries of artillery and the permanent departmental corps, 3000 men in all. Mostly the cavalry, including the Governor General's Bodyguard were part-time militia regiments. When the CEF was formed to fight in Europe in 1914, ten Canadian Mounted Rifles units were raised.

Permanent Cavalry
Number Title
The Royal Canadian Dragoons
Lord Strathcona's Horse (Royal Canadians)

Militia Cavalry
Number Title
The Governor General's Body Guard
1st Hussars
2nd Dragoons
3rd Canadian Dragoons (Prince of Wales's)
4th Hussars
5th Princess Louise's Dragoon Guards
6th Duke of Connaught's Royal Canadian Hussars
7th Hussars
8th Princess Louise's New Brunswick Hussars
9th Mississauga Horse
10th Queen's Own Canadian Hussars (disbanded 1913)
11th Hussars
12th Manitoba Dragoons
13th Scottish Light Dragoons
14th King's Canadian Hussars
15th Light Horse
16th Light Horse
17th Duke of York's Royal Canadian Hussars (Argenteuil Rangers)
18th Mounted Rifles
19th Alberta Dragoons
20th Border Horse
21st Alberta Hussars
22nd Saskatchewan Light horse
23rd Alberta Rangers
24th Regiment (Grey's Horse)
25th Brant Dragoons
26th Stanstead Dragoons
27th Light Horse
28th New Brunswick Dragoons
29th Light Horse
30th Regiment (British Columbia Horse)
31st Regiment (British Columbia Horse)
32nd Manitoba Horse
33rd Vaudrevil and Soulanges Hussars
34th Fort Garry Horse
35th Central Alberta Horse
36th Prince Edward Island Light Horse
Canadian Mounted Rifles
Number Title
1st Squadron
2nd Squadron
3rd Squadron
4th Squadron
5th Squadron
6th Squadron
7th Squadron
8th Squadron
9th Squadron
10th Squadron

| Uniforms | Campaigns | Armaments | Units |

Armed Forces | Art and Culture | Articles | Biographies | Colonies | Discussion | Glossary | Home | Library | Links | Map Room | Sources and Media | Science and Technology | Search | Student Zone | Timelines | TV & Film | Wargames

by Stephen Luscombe